Harold Sternbeck Medal - Will you be this year's winner?

7th April 2017

Will you presenting a paper at our National Conference in May? Would you like to win the most coveted award at the Conference? 
Harold Sternbeck was a member of the FMA Executive from 1972 to 2009. During his time on the Executive Committee, Harold held the positions of Chairman, and Deputy Chairman, and led many deputations to lobby various Federal and State Government ministers for better floodplain management funding.
In 2000, in recognition of Harold's extensive service to FMA, and his prowess as a persuasive public speaker, FMA established the Harold Sternbeck Medal to be presented at the FMA Conference, held annually. 
This Medal is awarded for the best paper presented which demonstrated excellence of the highest order. It is not awarded lightly, and in some cases, no winner has been announced that year.
Past winners and their presentations include:
2016 - Allan Gear: Of Doubts and Flooded Drains
2015 - David Webber and Elspeth Rae: Reliance Towards Resilience - Involving community in the planning process 
2014 - Dr. Hamid Mirfenderesk: Flood Mitigation Works and Planning Levels - A Policy Rethink? The Gold Coast Experience
2013 - Drew Bewsher: Hawkesbury's Flood Risk Management Plan - 15 years in the making
2012 - Greg Rogencamp: The Lockyer Creek Flood of January 2011 - What happened and how should we manage large floods?
The Medal will again be returning for our 2017 National Conference, so get your presentations ready!
Please visit the Harold Sternbeck Medal page for the full list of past winning presentations.

<< Previous | Next >>